The 17 Tories Who Rebelled on the Grieve Amendment mdi-fullscreen

The division lists are out after the Government’s crushing defeat by 41 votes on Grieve’s latest Brexit-blocking amendment. 17 Tory MPs voted directly against the Bill, including DCMS Minister Margo James who resigned to do so:

  • Guto Bebb
  • Steve Brine
  • Alistair Burt
  • Jonathan Djanogly
  • Justine Greening
  • Dominic Grieve
  • Sam Gyimah
  • Richard Harrington
  • Margot James (resigned)
  • Phillip Lee
  • Jeremy Lefroy
  • Oliver Letwin
  • Paul Masterton
  • Sarah Newton
  • Antoinette Sandbach
  • Keith Simpson
  • Ed Vaizey

A further 24 Tory MPs also appear to have broken the three-line whip by abstaining without a clear reason, including Philip Hammond, David Gauke, Greg Clark and Rory Stewart. Karen Bradley – the minister responsible for the Bill – also abstained but she was paired. Philip Hammond reportedly came to Parliament just so he could abstain “in person”…

Guido is aware of 6 other Tory MPs who were absent for clear reasons, although it’s worth remembering that there may be more, whether through pairing/illness etc. Government MPs in bold:

  • Richard Benyon
  • Peter Bottomley
  • Graham Brady
  • Greg Clark
  • Ken Clarke
  • Alan Duncan
  • Vicky Ford
  • David Gauke
  • Cheryl Gillan
  • Damian Green
  • Philip Hammond
  • Stephen Hammond
  • Simon Hoare
  • Jeremy Hunt (by mistake)
  • Gillian Keegan
  • Huw Merriman
  • Anne Milton
  • Bob Neill
  • Matthew Offord
  • Nicholas Soames
  • Caroline Spelman
  • Rory Stewart
  • Julian Sturdy
  • Tom Tugendhat

Word is already doing the rounds that May’s whipping may not have been as robust it should have been to avoid giving her successor a poisoned chalice…

UPDATE: From Caroline Johnson “Your reporting of “rebels” is inaccurate. I did not rebel by abstaining. I was paired. As was Pauline Latham. Victoria Prentis was not “rebelling” either her mother died last night”. We have amended the headline and corrected the list accordingly. Apologies and condolences.

mdi-timer July 18 2019 @ 14:26 mdi-share-variant mdi-twitter mdi-facebook mdi-whatsapp mdi-telegram mdi-linkedin mdi-email mdi-printer
Home Page Next Story

Comments are closed