MPs Standing Down at the Next Election mdi-fullscreen

As Britain heads for a general election, MPs are making decisions about their own future career plans. So as the day-to-day politics unfurls, Guido brings you the comprehensive and continually-updating list of MPs who have announced they will be stepping down at the next election. Get in touch with any updates…


  • John Bercow, Buckingham


  • Alan Duncan, Rutland and Melton
  • Alastair Burt, North East Bedfordshire
  • Andrew Griffiths, Burton
  • Bill Grant, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
  • Caroline Spelman, Meriden 
  • Claire Perry, Devizes 
  • David Lidington, Aylesbury
  • David Tredinnick, Bosworth
  • Ed Vaizey, Wantage
  • George Hollingbery, Meon Valley
  • Glyn Davies, Montgomeryshire
  • Henry Bellingham, North West Norfolk
  • Hugo Swire, East Devon
  • Jeremy Lefroy, Stafford
  • Jo Johnson, Orpington
  • Keith Simpson, Broadland
  • Mark Field, Cities of London and Westminster
  • Mark Lancaster, Milton Keynes North
  • Mark Prisk, Hertford & Stortford
  • Michael Fallon, Sevenoaks 
  • Mims Davies, Eastleigh 
  • Nicholas Soames, Mid Sussex
  • Nick Herbert, Arundel and South Downs
  • Nick Hurd, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner
  • Nicky Morgan, Loughborough 
  • Patrick McLoughlin, Derbyshire Dales
  • Peter Heaton-Jones, North Devon
  • Richard Benyon, Newbury
  • Richard Harrington, Watford
  • Ross Thompson, Aberdeen South
  • Sarah Newton, Truro and Falmouth
  • Seema Kennedy, South Ribble


  • Adrian Bailey, West Bromwich West
  • Albert Owen, Ynys Mon
  • Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley 
  • Geoffrey Robinson, Coventry North West
  • Gloria De Piero, Ashfield
  • Helen Jones, Warrington North
  • Ian Lucas, Wrexham
  • Jim Cunningham, Coventry South
  • Jim Fitzpatrick, Poplar and Limehouse 
  • John Mann, Bassetlaw 
  • John Woodcock, Barrow and Furness
  • Kate Hoey, Vauxhall
  • Keith Vaz, Leicester East 
  • Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North
  • Kevin Barron, Rother Valley
  • Louise Ellman, Liverpool Riverside
  • Owen Smith, Pontypridd
  • Paul Farrelly, Newcastle-under-Lyme
  • Roberta Blackman-Woods, City of Durham 
  • Ronnie Campbell, Blyth Valley
  • Stephen Pound, Ealing North
  • Stephen Twigg, Liverpool West Derby
  • Teresa Pearce, Erith and Thamesmead
  • Tom Watson, West Bromwich East

Lib Dem

  • Norman Lamb, North Norfolk 
  • Vince Cable, Twickenham 


  • David Simpson, Upper Bann

Former-Tory, Former-Change UK, Former-Independent, Former ‘The Independents’, Now Lib Dem

  • Heidi Allen, South Cambridgeshire

Conservative Independents

  • Charlie Elphicke, Dover
  • Guto Bebb, Aberconwy 
  • Oliver Letwin, West Dorset
  • Justine Greening, Putney
  • Ken Clarke, Rushcliffe 
  • Nick Boles, Grantham
  • Philip Hammond, Runnymede and Weybridge


  • Amber Rudd, Hastings and Rye
  • Ian Austin, Dudley North
  • Margot James, Stourbridge
  • Rory Stewart, Penrith and the Border
  • Sylvia Hermon, North Down

Change UK

  • Ann Coffey, Stockport
  • Joan Ryan, Enfield North 

The totemic 2010 election saw 149 MPs announce they wouldn’t contest the election, 2015 saw 90, and 2017 saw 30. The 2019 tally stands at 75…

Photo h/t to Tracey Crouch.
mdi-tag-outline Election 2019
mdi-timer October 29 2019 @ 14:00 mdi-share-variant mdi-twitter mdi-facebook mdi-whatsapp mdi-telegram mdi-linkedin mdi-email mdi-printer
Home Page Next Story

Comments are closed