MPs Who Voted For Referendum Now Trying to Block Result

27 MPs who voted in favour of holding an EU referendum now want to block the result. In June 2015, the following all voted to pass the European Union Referendum Act:

Owen Smith, Geraint Davies, Thangam Debbonaire, Peter Kyle, Neil Coyle, Daniel Zeichner, Tulip Siddiq, David Lammy, Catherine West, Helen Hayes, Kerry McCarthy, Ben Bradshaw, Jim Dowd, Mike Gapes, Rupa Huq, Ian Murray, Karen Buck, Jeff Smith, Ann Coffey, Vicky Foxcroft, Louise Ellman, Stephen Timms, Tom Brake, Tim Farron, Mark Williams, Alistair Carmichael and Caroline Lucas [Source: Hansard]

They wanted an In/Out EU referendum, it didn’t go their way and they are now voting to block Article 50. They only wanted to abide by the referendum result if they won…

UPDATE: Need a heart of stone not to laugh at David Lammy, who over the course of a few days in June 2015 voted both for an EU referendum and to nominate Jeremy Corbyn as Labour leader. Life comes at you fast.

Euro News

Tip offs: 0709 284 0531

Quote of the Day

Andrea Jenkyns accuses PM of acting in bad faith…

“I would not be surprised if we were promised that it would be looked at in the next stage to gain support but then be immediately dropped once the withdrawal agreement had gone through. The government needs to work on building up trust as many of us feel that we have been strung along.”


Guidogram: Sign up

Subscribe to the most succinct 7 days a week daily email read by thousands of Westminster insiders.
“Institute for Public Interest News” is a Bad Idea “Institute for Public Interest News” is a Bad Idea
Humphrys Interviews Naked Remainer Humphrys Interviews Naked Remainer