Hoyle Rebukes Bercow’s Rule Breaking

Lindsay Hoyle previously promised he’d scrap Bercow’s reforms that tore up parliamentary precedent; and after today’s PMQs, he made his most public rebuking to date. Watch his post-PMQs statement in full above.

Last January, Bercow caused outrage by overruling the advice of the clerks in allowing an out of order amendment from Dominic Grieve, defying the advice of his senior clerk, and firmly showing the world he had completely abandoned any pretence of impartiality. At the time, he forbade his clerk from making any public comment…

Today, Sir Lindsay has announced a new procedure that will allow the Clerk of the House to publish his advice in the House of Commons Library if the Speaker makes a decision which compromises current Commons rules. Bullying allegations, no peerage and now his legacy being torn up – 2020 isn’t looking like a great year for Bercow…

mdi-timer January 29 2020 @ 13:15 29 Jan 2020 @ 13:15 mdi-comment Comments
Boris Tears Into Corbyn’s Foreign Policy Record

The party leaders also paid tribute to Nicholas Parsons after his passing yesterday

mdi-timer January 29 2020 @ 12:35 29 Jan 2020 @ 12:35 mdi-comment Comments
PMQs: Who’s Asking the Questions?

Q1 Carol Monaghan (Glasgow North West) – SNP

Q2 Sarah Champion (Rotherham) – Lab

Q3 Bill Wiggin (North Herefordshire) – Con

Q4 Angela Crawley (Lanark and Hamilton East) – SNP

Q5 Caroline Lucas (Brighton, Pavilion) – Green

Q6 Karl Turner (Kingston upon Hull East) – Lab

Q7 Sally-Ann Hart (Hastings and Rye) – Con

Q8 Mr Gregory Campbell (East Londonderry) – DUP

Q9 Ronnie Cowan (Inverclyde) – SNP

Q10 Meg Hillier (Hackney South and Shoreditch) – Lab

Q11 Owen Thompson (Midlothian) – SNP

Q12 Mike Amesbury (Weaver Vale) – Lab

Q13 Mrs Andrea Jenkyns (Morley and Outwood) – Con

Q14 Mohammad Yasin (Bedford) – Lab

Q15 Patrick Grady (Glasgow North) – SNP

mdi-timer January 29 2020 @ 11:51 29 Jan 2020 @ 11:51 mdi-comment Comments
Simon Says

Bet he’s used that gag before…

mdi-timer January 28 2020 @ 15:26 28 Jan 2020 @ 15:26 mdi-comment Comments
Full Results: 13 Committee Chairs Elected Unopposed

The deputy speaker has just congratulated 13 new committee chairs who were successfully reappointed unopposed. The full list are:

  • Backbench Business Committee – Ian Mearns
  • Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy Committee – Rachel Reeves
  • Education – Robert Halfon
  • Environment, Food & Rural Affairs – Neil Parish
  • Brexit – Hilary Benn
  • Home Affairs – Yvette Cooper
  • Housing, Communities & Local Government – Clive Betts
  • Public Accounts – Meg Hillier
  • Scottish Affairs – Pete Wishart
  • Standards – Kate Green
  • Treasury – Mel Stride
  • Wales – Stephen Crabb
  • Womens & Equalities – Caroline Noakes

The rest of the elections will take place on Wednesday afternoon, with results announced later that day…

mdi-timer January 27 2020 @ 17:07 27 Jan 2020 @ 17:07 mdi-comment Comments
Francois and #StandUp4Brexit Admit Big Ben Bong Defeat

Four days off Brexit day, the spearhead of the ‘Bung a bob for a big ben bong’ bid, Mark Francois, has finally admitted defeat that the campaign will fail. Despite loyal Brexiteers coughing up £270,000 of hard-earned cash for it…

The money raised – which fell short of the ludicrously high £500,000 being cited by the Commons – will now go towards Help for Heroes, and Brexiteers will instead have to settle for No. 10’s projected clock up against Downing Street. Brexiteers may not have won this battle, there’ll still be more than enough to celebrate on Friday night…

mdi-timer January 27 2020 @ 14:20 27 Jan 2020 @ 14:20 mdi-comment Comments
Previous Page Next Page