Read in Full: New Peers and Political Knighthoods mdi-fullscreen


  1. Rt Hon James Jacob BERRY MP



Nominations from the former Leader of the Conservative and Unionist Party

  1. Angie Bray – Formerly Member of Parliament for Ealing Central and Acton, and leader of the Conservative Group in the London Assembly.
  2. Graham Evans – Formerly Member of Parliament for Weaver Vale.
  3. Sir Michael Hintze – Businessman, founder of the Hintze Family Charitable Foundation; Trustee of the National Gallery.
  4. Stewart Jackson – Formerly Member of Parliament for Peterborough, and Special Adviser at the Department for Exiting the European Union.
  5. Kate Lampard CBE – Chair of GambleAware; Lead Non-Executive Director of the Department for Health and Social Care.
  6. Dr Sheila Lawlor – Founder and Director of Research at Politeia.
  7. Dr Ruth Lea CBE – Economist, former civil servant and think tank director.
  8. Dr Dambisa Moyo – economist and author; formerly Commissioner for the Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities.
  9. Teresa O’Neill OBE – Leader of the Council in the London Borough of Bexley; Vice Chair on London Councils; Deputy Chair of the Local Government Association.
  10. Professor Andrew Roberts – historian and journalist; Founder-President of the Cliveden Literary Festival.
  11. Dr Cleveland Anthony Sewell CBE – formerly Chair of the Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities; Chair of Generating Genius.
  12. Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames – formerly Member of Parliament for Mid Sussex, and Minister of State for the Armed Forces.
  13. Sir Hugo Swire – formerly Member of Parliament for East Devon, and Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Nominations from the Leader of the Labour Party

  1. Sonny Leong CBE – Co-Founder and Co-Chair of SME4Labour.
  2. Frances O’Grady – General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress of the UK.
  3. David Prentis – President of Public Services International and formerly Secretary General of Unison.
  4. Kuldip Singh Sahota – Labour Councillor for Malinslee & Dawley Bank.
  5. Ruth Smeeth – Formerly Member of Parliament for Stoke-on-Trent North.
  6. Sharon Taylor OBE – Labour Leader of Stevenage Borough Council.
  7. Dr Fiona Twycross – Deputy Mayor of London for Fire and Resilience.
  8. Thomas Watson – formerly Deputy Leader of the Labour Party.

Nominations from the Leader of the Democratic Unionist Party

  1. Peter Weir – formerly Minister for Education in the Northern Ireland Executive.

Nominations for non-affiliated Peerages

  1. Dame Arlene Foster – formerly First Minister of Northern Ireland.
  2. Professor Guglielmo Verdirame QC – barrister and Professor of International Law at King’s College London.

Nominations for Crossbench Peerages

  1. Sir Peter Hendy – Chair of Network Rail.
  2. Air Chief Marshall Sir Stuart Peach – Prime Minister’s Special Envoy to the Western Balkans and formerly Chief of Defence Staff.
mdi-timer October 14 2022 @ 16:11 mdi-share-variant mdi-twitter mdi-facebook mdi-whatsapp mdi-telegram mdi-linkedin mdi-email mdi-printer
Home Page Next Story
View Comments