+++ Wednesday Live Blog +++ mdi-fullscreen

It’s going to be a long day…

2249: Ed Argar resigns as health minister

2235: Welsh Secretary of State Simon Hart resigns

2145: Danny Kruger resigns as PPS at Local Government

2118: Gove sacked

2045: Jacob Young resigns as PPS to local government

1922: Priti joins Cabinet coup against Boris

1912: Boris has spoken to the Queen, albeit a usual weekly chat so not necessarily a precursor to a resignation announcement

1830: Steve Baker says he’s considering a leadership attempt

1811: David Duguid quits as the Fisheries Envoy and Trade Envoy for Angola and Zambia

1725: James Sunderland resigns as a DEFRA PPS

1724: Ruth Edwards resigns as a Scotland PPS

1719: Peter Gibson resigns as a Trade PPS

1711: 1922 Committee votes against changing no-confidence rules. Instead, executive elections will take place on Monday.

1704: Michelle Donelan – the Education Secretary for less than 24 hours – is among the delegation telling the PM to resign

1656: Kwasi Kwarteng has lost confidence in Boris

1645: Sara Britcliffe resigns as a PPS at education

1644: Simon Jupp tells the PM to resign

1643: Full list of cabinet delegation going to tell the PM to resign:

    • Nadhim Zahawi
    • Grant Shapps
    • Brandon Lewis
    • Simon Hart
    • A source close to Kwasi Kwarteng says that while he’s not in London, he would be with the delegation if he were

1633: Mark Fletcher resigns as PPS at BEIS

1626:🚨 BBC now reporting the Chief Whip and a group of other Cabinet ministers are about to tell the PM to resign

1617: Guido calculates Ministerial resignation payouts currently total £126,222.50

1615: Jo Gideon confirms she’s submitted her letter

1610: Mike Freer resigns as Trade & Equalities Minister

1544: Huw Merriman, Transport Committee Chairman, tweets a letter of no confidence… from the Liaison Committee

1538: Rachel Maclean resigns as Home Office minister for Safeguarding

1534: Mark Logan resigns as a PPS at Northern Ireland

1523: Craig Williams resigns as PPS at the Treasury

1518: Fay Jones says she will resign as a PPS at the Leader of the Commons if Boris isn’t gone by tomorrow

1514: Duncan Baker resigns as PPS at Local Government

1507: Robert Buckland calls for the PM to resign

1458: Boris actually turns up for Liaison Committee appearance

1435: Liam Fox withdraws support

1434: Mims Davies resigns as DWP Employment Minister

1431: Anna Firth, newly elected MP for Southend, submits letter of no confidence

1427: 🚨Mail reports Gove has met with Boris and told him to go

1426: 🚨Joint resignation by five ministers:

    • Kemi Badenoch, Equalities
    • Neil O’Brien, Local Government
    • Alex Burghart, Education
    • Lee Rowley, BEIS
    • Julia Lopez, DCMS

1425: Andrew Bowie calls for a second leadership election

1421: Aaron Bell puts letter into Brady. Previously opposed the PM though two weeks ago said his VONC win meant he should be “given space” to get on and govern

1407: 🚨Times‘ Lara Spirit reportssenior MPs” are claiming Chief Whip Chris Heaton-Harris has told PM “the game is up“.

1352: Robert Jenrick calls on the PM to resign

1333: Alec Shelbrooke calls on the PM to resign

1333: Three more PPS resignations:

    • Claire Coutinho, Treasury
    • Selaine Saxby, Treasury
    • David Johnston, Education

1301: Downing Street spokesperson says Boris would fight another confidence vote, and believes he still has support of majority of MPs.

1242: Stuart Andrew resigns as Housing Minister

1205: Jo Churchill resigns as a DEFRA minister

1148: Simon Fell tweets “Enough is enough. We can’t go on like this and we don’t have to. It’s time for fresh leadership.”

1140: The Speccie’s James Forsyth reports a senior 1922 executive member tells him “they now favour a delegation going to Johnson to tell him that it is over and that they will change the rules to allow another vote if he doesn’t quit”. #MenInGreySuits

1133: Victoria Atkins resigns as a Justice Minister, posting her letter on Instagram, says “I can no longer pirouette around our fractured values… we can and must be better than this”

1117: Welsh Tory leader Andrew RT Davies tells Times Radio ‘if he had lied in the way Boris Johnson has’ he would no longer be leader in Wales.

1114: Tom Hunt submits letter of no confidence. He’s also on the 1922 committee.

1107: John Glen resigns as Economic Secretary to the Treasury

1105: Felicity Bughan resigns as a PPS at BEIS

1014: Lee Anderson declares he no longer has support in the PM, saying “I cannot look myself in the mirror and accept this.”

1010: Chris Skidmore declares he no longer has support in the PM, saying Boris’s actions are “tantamount to an effective cover up of sexual abuse”

1007: Simon Hoare says he has written to Brady asking for a rule change

0955: Rob Halfon declares he no longer has support in the PM and says he will now vote for a change in leadership.

0950: Robin Walker resigns as DfE Minister for School Standards, saying recent events have distracted the government from its core missions

0825: Will Quince resigns as DfE Minister for Children & Families, thanking the PM for apologising to him for the false briefings he received on Monday

0814: Laura Trott resigns as Transport PPS, writing “Trust in politics is – and must always be – of the upmost importance, but sadly in recent months this has been lost.”

mdi-timer July 6 2022 @ 10:46 mdi-share-variant mdi-twitter mdi-facebook mdi-whatsapp mdi-telegram mdi-linkedin mdi-email mdi-printer
Home Page Next Story
View Comments