Tory Whips Saved Vaz


When 203 MPs voted for Keith Vaz to join the Justice select committee last night, everyone assumed Labour MPs had turned up to back their man. In actual fact, Guido can reveal that it was the Tories who whipped their side to secure Vaz’s position. A disbelieving Conservative MP tells Guido that as he walked through the voting Lobby he saw a group of Tory whips ordering their MPs to vote for Vaz. There was no Labour whipping operation, only a small number of Labour MPs turned up for the vote. As a result 159 of the 203 MPs who voted for Vaz were Tories, including ministers like Amber Rudd, Jeremy Hunt and Liam Fox. The whips’ pathetic argument was “you’re voting for the process, not for him”This decision to appoint a crook to the Justice committee is one of parliament’s most shameful acts in recent years – and the Tories are the ones responsible…

Click for the list:

Here are the names of the MPs who voted for Vaz, 159 are Tories:

Afriyie, Adam
Andrew, Stuart
Ansell, Caroline
Argar, Edward
Ashworth, Jonathan
Atkins, Victoria
Bacon, Mr Richard
Baker, Mr Steve
Baldwin, Harriett
Barwell, Gavin
Bebb, Guto
Benyon, Richard
Berry, James
Betts, Mr Clive
Bingham, Andrew
Blenkinsop, Tom
Bone, Mr Peter
Bradley, rh Karen
Brazier, Mr Julian
Brennan, Kevin
Brine, Steve
Brokenshire, rh James
Brown, rh Mr Nicholas
Bruce, Fiona
Burns, Conor
Cadbury, Ruth
Carmichael, Neil
Cartlidge, James
Caulfield, Maria
Chalk, Alex
Churchill, Jo
Cleverly, James
Coffey, Dr Thérèse
Colvile, Oliver
Courts, Robert
Coyle, Neil
Creagh, Mary
Creasy, Stella
Crouch, Tracey
Cummins, Judith
Dakin, Nic
Danczuk, Simon
David, Wayne
Davies, Byron
Davies, Chris
Davies, Dr James
Davies, Mims
Davis, rh Mr David
Donaldson, rh Sir Jeffrey M.
Double, Steve
Doyle-Price, Jackie
Drax, Richard
Dunne, Mr Philip
Ellis, Michael
Ellison, Jane
Ellwood, Mr Tobias
Elmore, Chris
Evans, Chris
Evans, Graham
Foster, Kevin
Fox, rh Dr Liam
Foxcroft, Vicky
Frazer, Lucy
Freer, Mike
Garnier, Mark
Gauke, rh Mr David
Gibb, Mr Nick
Goodwill, Mr Robert
Green, Chris
Green, rh Damian
Green, Kate
Greenwood, Lilian
Griffiths, Andrew
Gyimah, Mr Sam
Haigh, Louise
Hall, Luke
Hamilton, Fabian
Hands, rh Greg
Hanson, rh Mr David
Harper, rh Mr Mark
Harris, Rebecca
Hart, Simon
Haselhurst, rh Sir Alan
Heald, rh Sir Oliver
Healey, rh John
Heappey, James
Hinds, Damian
Hoare, Simon
Hodgson, Mrs Sharon
Hollinrake, Kevin
Howarth, Sir Gerald
Huddleston, Nigel
Hunt, rh Mr Jeremy
Hurd, Mr Nick
James, Margot
Jayawardena, Mr Ranil
Jenkyns, Andrea
Jenrick, Robert
Johnson, Joseph
Jones, Andrew
Jones, rh Mr David
Jones, Mr Marcus
Kirby, Simon
Latham, Pauline
Leadsom, rh Andrea
Lee, Dr Phillip
Lefroy, Jeremy
Lewis, rh Brandon
Liddell-Grainger, Mr Ian
Lidington, rh Mr David
Lopresti, Jack
Mackinlay, Craig
Mackintosh, David
Mak, Mr Alan
Malthouse, Kit
Mann, Scott
Matheson, Christian
Mathias, Dr Tania
Maynard, Paul
McCabe, Steve
Metcalfe, Stephen
Miller, rh Mrs Maria
Milling, Amanda
Milton, rh Anne
Moon, Mrs Madeleine
Mordaunt, Penny
Morden, Jessica
Morris, James
Morton, Wendy
Mowat, David
Murray, Mrs Sheryll
Murrison, Dr Andrew
Nokes, Caroline
Norman, Jesse
Offord, Dr Matthew
Onwurah, Chi
Opperman, Guy
Parish, Neil
Percy, Andrew
Perry, Claire
Philp, Chris
Pincher, Christopher
Poulter, Dr Daniel
Pound, Stephen
Pow, Rebecca
Prentis, Victoria
Pursglove, Tom
Quin, Jeremy
Quince, Will
Rees-Mogg, Mr Jacob
Robertson, Mr Laurence
Robinson, Gavin
Robinson, Mary
Rudd, rh Amber
Rutley, David
Scully, Paul
Selous, Andrew
Shannon, Jim
Sheerman, Mr Barry
Skidmore, Chris
Smith, Henry
Smith, Jeff
Smith, Julian
Solloway, Amanda
Spellar, rh Mr John
Spencer, Mark
Stewart, Bob
Stewart, Iain
Stewart, Rory
Stride, Mel
Stringer, Graham
Stuart, rh Ms Gisela
Stuart, Graham
Sunak, Rishi
Swayne, rh Sir Desmond
Swire, rh Sir Hugo
Syms, Mr Robert
Tami, Mark
Thomas, Derek
Thomas, Mr Gareth
Throup, Maggie
Timpson, Edward
Tolhurst, Kelly
Tomlinson, Justin
Tomlinson, Michael
Tracey, Craig
Vaizey, rh Mr Edward
Vara, Mr Shailesh
Vickers, Martin
Walker, Mr Robin
Wallace, Mr Ben
Warman, Matt
Watson, Mr Tom
Wharton, James
Whately, Helen
Wheeler, Heather
Whittaker, Craig
Wiggin, Bill
Williams, Craig
Williamson, rh Gavin
Wilson, Phil
Wood, Mike
Zeichner, Daniel

Tip offs: 0709 284 0531

Quote of the Day

Sky’s Faisal Islam on the mood in Parliament at the moment:

“It’s a totally febrile atmosphere here. It’s kind of like Game of Thrones meets House of Cards – and if you chuck in the Labour Party – Laurel and Hardy too.”


Guidogram: Sign up

Subscribe to the most succinct 7 days a week daily email read by thousands of Westminster insiders.
Happy Independence Day! Happy Independence Day!
Corbyn Refuses to Bow to The Queen Corbyn Refuses to Bow to The Queen
Sunday Shows Sunday Shows
Every MP Who Lost Their Seat Every MP Who Lost Their Seat
Caitlin Moran Calls Her Readers “C*nts” Caitlin Moran Calls Her Readers “C*nts”
Could Sinn Fein Make Corbyn PM? Could Sinn Fein Make Corbyn PM?
Gallery Guido’s PMQs Sketch Gallery Guido’s PMQs Sketch
PMQs Sketch PMQs Sketch
Appeal on Behalf of the Friends of George Miller Appeal on Behalf of the Friends of George Miller
FLASHBACK: Labour Election Fraud FLASHBACK: Labour Election Fraud
FLASHBACK: LibDem Election Fraud FLASHBACK: LibDem Election Fraud
PMQs & Budget Sketch PMQs & Budget Sketch
Watch: May’s Weird Shoulder Laugh Watch: May’s Weird Shoulder Laugh
Experts Wrong About Polar Bears Too Experts Wrong About Polar Bears Too
Guido’s Guide to By-Election Scenarios Guido’s Guide to By-Election Scenarios
Milo 12 Things Milo 12 Things
Shami & Blunkett Campaigned for ISIS Suicide Bomber’s Release Shami & Blunkett Campaigned for ISIS Suicide Bomber’s Release
Anti-Bercow Lobbying Latest Anti-Bercow Lobbying Latest
Bring on the Robots Bring on the Robots
BBC Sources Revealed BBC Sources Revealed