Brexit Select Committee Runners and Riders


The Tories have ten places on the Brexit select committee, and there is a bunfight brewing between the Leave and Remain candidates as MPs vote this afternoon. Here are the names in the frame via Brexit Central:


  • Peter Bone
  • Maria Caulfield
  • Steve Double
  • Michael Gove
  • Chris Green
  • Andrea Jenkyns
  • Peter Lilley
  • Karl McCartney
  • Craig Mackinlay
  • Nigel Mills
  • Dominic Raab
  • John Whittingdale
  • Mike Wood


  • Alistair Burt
  • Jonathan Djangoly
  • Jeremy Lefroy
  • Antoinette Sandbach
  • Anna Soubry

The Brexit committee is being chaired by arch-Remainer Hilary Benn and Labour have already elected fellow Remainers Seema Malhotra, Pat McFadden, Emma Reynolds and Stephen Timms to join him. If the likes of Soubry make it on as well it will be an obstructing rather than scrutinising committee. Lots of former Vote Leavers are however in the mix. Gove, Whitto and Raab would relish holding May to account…

Seen Elsewhere

NHS Cash for New Labour SpAds NHS Cash for New Labour SpAds