UKIP NEC Votes to Block Evans, Whittle, Banks, Kassam

ukip runners riders

UKIP’s NEC has voted to prevent candidates who have been party members for under five years from running for leader. This is not yet an official motion, but if enforced it means the likes of Suzanne Evans, Peter Whittle, Arron Banks and Raheem Kassam would not be eligible to stand. Nigel Farage aide Michael Heaver explains:

“It would rule out for instance London Assembly Members Peter Whittle and David Kurten, who had both mulled the idea of standing. Suzanne Evans would also would not meet the five-year term even if her suspension was lifted and it would also mean the likes of Arron Banks and Raheem Kassam couldn’t stand either.”

This would leave the contest down to the likes of Steven Woolfe, Neil Hamilton and party director Lisa Duffy. Expect it to be appealed though, Suzanne Evans says: “I cannot imagine a decision more ridiculous”. The UKIP of five years ago is very different to the UKIP of today…

Tip offs: 0709 284 0531

Quote of the Day

Dominic Raab wrote in his letter of resignation…

“This is, at its heart, a matter of public trust,” he told the PM, concluding: “I cannot reconcile the terms of the proposed deal with the promises we made to the country in our manifesto at the last election… I believe that the regulatory regime proposed for Northern Ireland presents a very real threat to the integrity of the United Kingdom. I cannot support an indefinite backstop arrangement, where the EU holds a veto over our ability to exit…”


Guidogram: Sign up

Subscribe to the most succinct 7 days a week daily email read by thousands of Westminster insiders.