Labour Coup Day Two

This morning’s rolling resignations:

  • 19:54 Nic Dakin, shadow Minister for Schools, absents himself.
  • 17:59 Richard Burden resigns as shadow Transport minister.
  • 17:54 Melanie Onn, Shadow Deputy Leader of House, has resigned
  • 17:49 Sharon Hodgson resigns as Labour’s Shadow Minister for Children
  • 17:16 Shadow Police minister Jack Dromey next to go.
  • 15:26 Sir Keir Starmer quits as Shadow Home Office minister.
  • 14:21 Shadow Culture minister Thangam Debbonaire goes.
  • 14:18 Luciana Berger goes too.
  • 13:02 Shadow Women’s minister Kate Green quits.
  • 12:37 Maria Eagle quits as Shadow Culture Secretary.
  • 12:16 Shadow Welsh Secretary Nia Griffith quits along with junior Susan Jones.
  • 12:19 Shadow Housing Secretary John Healey also gone.
  • 12:17 Shadow Business Secretary Angela Eagle resigns.
  • 11:52 Housing PPS Matthew Pennycock also goes.
  • 11:51 Lisa Nandy and Owen Smith resign.
  • 11:40 Jenny Chapman quits Education team, Colleen Fletcher quits Defra.
  • 11:00 Roberta Blackman-Woods quits the Housing team.
  • 09:58 Shadow Minister for the Natural Environment Alex Cunningham resigns.
  • 09:20 Angela Smith, Leader of Labour in the Lords, and Labour’s Lords Chief Whip Steve Bassam both quit attending shadow cabinet meetings.
  • 09:02 Ruth Smeeth resigns as a PPS to the NI team.
  • 08:45 Education PPS Jess Phillips resigns.
  • 08:37 Shadow ministers Steve Reed and Yvonne Fovargue have gone.
  • 08:31 Wayne David resigns as Shadow Europe Minister.
  • 08:21 Justice PPS Chris Matheson quits.
  • 08:06 Stephen Kinnock has resigned as Angela Eagle’s PPS.
  • 07:53 Neil Coyle, who nominated Corbyn, has resigned as PPS to Bryant.
  • 07:52 Diana Johnson resigns as Shadow Foreign Office Minister.
  • 07:49 Toby Perkins resigns as Shadow Armed Forces Minister.
  • 07:48 Anna Turley resigns as Shadow Minister for Civil Society.

See yesterday’s resignations here

New Shadow Cabinet appointments:

  • Shadow Communities Secretary – Graeme Morris
  • Shadow Lord President of the Council, and Campaigns and Elections Director – Jon Trickett
  • Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary – Debbi Abrahams
  • Shadow Energy Secretary – Barry Gardiner
  • Shadow Justice Secretary – Richard Burgon
  • Shadow Foreign Secretary – Emily Thornberry
  • Shadow Health Secretary – Diane Abbott
  • Shadow Education Secretary – Pat Glass
  • Shadow Transport Secretary – Andy McDonald
  • Shadow Defence Secretary – Clive Lewis
  • Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Rebecca Long-Bailey
  • Shadow International Development Secretary – Kate Osamor
  • Shadow Environment Food and Rural Affairs Secretary – Rachel Maskell
  • Shadow Voter Engagement and Youth Affairs – Cat Smith
  • Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary – Dave Anderson

Tip offs: 0709 284 0531

Quote of the Day

Trevor Kavanagh’s analysis of the Brexit process…

“Thanks to Mrs May and her useless Chancellor Phil Hammond, this will not come without pain. But we escape with imagination and true British grit or we will be boiled alive.

It means on this centenary Remembrance of our struggle against tyranny, we risk ceding non-military victory in Europe to the undemocratic forces of an unaccountable totalitarian regime.”


Guidogram: Sign up

Subscribe to the most succinct 7 days a week daily email read by thousands of Westminster insiders.