A total of 19 Labour MPs voted for the rebel amendment seeking to block the Identity Cards Bill. They were:

Michael Clapham (Barnsley West & Penistone)

Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North)

Gwyneth Dunwoody (Crewe & Nantwich)

Neil Gerrard (Walthamstow)

Ian Gibson (Norwich North)

Kate Hoey (Vauxhall)

Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North)

Glenda Jackson (Hampstead & Highgate)

Terry Lewis (Worsley)

John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington)

Alice Mahon (Halifax)

Robert Marshall-Andrews (Medway)

Clare Short (Birmingham Ladywood)

Dennis Skinner (Bolsover)

Llew Smith (Blaenau Gwent)

David Taylor (Leicestershire NW)

Robert Wareing (Liverpool West Derby)

David Winnick (Walsall North)

Andrew Bennett (Denton and Reddish) was a teller

The 10 Conservative MPs voting for the rebel amendment and against the party’s stance on ID cards were:

John Bercow (Buckingham)

Angela Browning (Tiverton & Honiton)

William Cash (Stone)

David Curry (Skipton & Ripon)

Nick Gibb (Bognor Regis & Littlehampton)

Damien Green (Ashford)

Edward Leigh (Gainsborough)

Peter Lilley (Hitchin & Harpenden)

Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills)

Douglas Hogg (Sleaford and North Hykeham) was a teller

72 Tory MPs, almost half the Tory parliamentary party, did (as advised by Tory whips) their Christmas shopping instead of voting. So the Tories were hypocritical, unlike the 55 Liberal MPs who lived up to there party’s name for once.

Seen Elsewhere

Tip offs: 0709 284 0531

Quote of the Day

Boris as Hulk…

‘Banner might be bound in manacles, but when provoked he would explode out of them. Hulk always escaped, no matter how tightly bound in he seemed to be – and that is the case for this country. We will come out on October 31 and we will get it done.’


Guidogram: Sign up

Subscribe to the most succinct 7 days a week daily email read by thousands of Westminster insiders.
Crowdfund Libertarian Music Video Crowdfund Libertarian Music Video